Everton FC News for Thursday: Big victory down under, Amadou Onana wins, Alex Iwobi contract extension, sad news and World Cup How to Watch

Everton FC News for Thursday: Big victory down under, Amadou Onana wins, Alex Iwobi contract extension, sad news and World Cup How to Watch

Welcome to Day 5 of the 2022 World Cup!

With Premier League action halted for the global showcase, we’re going to pivot to covering the World Cup for the next month or so, with an Everton focus. The Blues are on their tour to Australia so we’ll continue with coverage on that, but we’re also going to have all the viewing information you will need for the tournament in Qatar on a daily basis, with in-depth coverage on some teams of interest – England, Belgium, Senegal, United States and Canada.

Everton were 5-1 victors in their final match down under. Anthony Gordon took the match ball home after scoring a hat trick. Read the RBM game summary with highlights. [RBM]

Western City Wanderers v Everton - Sydney Super Cup

Anthony Gordon was impressive in Everton’s 5-1 thumping of Western Sydney Wanderers.
Photo by Tony McArdle/Everton FC via Getty Images

Amadou Onana came on for Belgium in their victory over Canada at the FIFA World Cup. [EFC]

Everton are trying to extend the contract of Alex Iwobi and Frank Lampard is speaking glowingly of the player:

“I know that Kevin is speaking with Alex’s people on that front so we’ll see how that one develops,” said the Everton manager. At the moment, I think he’s one of the best midfield players in the league in terms of being a No.6 or No.8. His development has been brilliant. It’s a funny one, I think there was a perception about Alex when I came in, and it’s all his work.” [Click Liverpool]

Congratulations to all of the participants as the Goodison Sleepout raised £25,000 for Everton in the City. [EFC]

Some interesting comments from Mohammed Kudus who was heavily linked with a move from Ajax to Everton last summer. [Echo]

Sad news today as former Everton and Liverpool player David Johnson passed away after a battle with cancer. Johnson scored Derby goals for both Everton and Liverpool at the Gwladys Street End. Bill Kenright remembered David:

“That David enjoyed the love and respect of both sides of Stanley Park underlined his qualities both as a footballer and a man. He was one of the few who crossed the divide and managed to retain his reputation with both sets of supporters. That is because he was always honest, hard-working and brave. Rest in Peace John.” [EFC]

In the Air

18th January 1972: David Johnson in the air during a match between Ipswich Town and Everton.
Photo by Evening Standard/Getty Images

Switzerland vs Cameroon

Group G – Al Janoub Stadium, Al Wakrah
Date and start time: Tuesday, November 24th at 2:00 am PT / 5:00 am ET / 10:00 am BT

Uruguay vs South Korea

Group H – Education City Stadium, Al Rayyan
Date and start time: Tuesday, November 24th at 5:00 am PT / 8:00 am ET / 1:00 pm BT

Portugal vs Ghana

Group G – Stadium 974, Doha
Date and start time: Tuesday, November 24th at 8:00 am PT / 11:00 am ET / 4:00 pm BT

Brazil vs Serbia

Group H – Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail
Date and start time: Tuesday, November 24th at 11:00 am PT / 2:00 pm ET / 7:00 pm BT

For more information on how to watch/listen to today’s action, check out your region’s streaming/listening options at LiveSoccerTV.com

*Royal Blue Mersey has affiliate partnerships and may earn commissions for products purchased via affiliate links provided.

Leave a Reply