Analyzing a deep crop of DPOY candidates

Analyzing a deep crop of DPOY candidates

In a year where defenses have taken back some of the power in the NFL, you don’t have to look very far to find outstanding individual performances. As we head down the back stretch of 2022, the race for Defensive Player of the Year is wide open. So let’s have a look at what the numbers tell us about which players have the best arguments to be in the running…

The edge rushers and all-around DTs

Since 2014, defensive linemen who get after the quarterback have dominated the DPOY award. Only one non-rusher (Stephon Gilmore) has taken home the trophy with JJ Watt winning twice, Aaron Donald three times and Khalil Mack and TJ Watt filling out the rest of the list.


Leave a Reply